Skip to content

Making Jam

August 2, 2010

I have just completed my first batch of homemade jam and I am so pleased with myself!

I made strawberry jam as I found large punnets at my local greengrocer for just 89p each, 2 punnets was enough to make 4 large jars. 

I used old jam jars that I had cleaned in the dishwasher and sterilised in the oven. So the cost works out as 82p per jar, which is very economical compared to what I normally pay at the farmers market.

I used the recipe that was printed on back of the sugar bag, it was very easy to follow and even though I didn’t have any of the jam making equipment (thermometer, special pan etc.) it seems to have set ok.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

